Adult retreat

15th Annual CSP Adult Retreat (Online)
with Dr. Erica Brown, live from Silver Spring, MD
Honoring our CSP Patrons


The Book of Esther in Art and Text
Free of charge to CSP Patrons (includes Persian treats)
Free to CSP Legacy members ($75 if you would like the Persian treats)
$75 per household general public ($180 if you would like the Persian treats)
*Cost includes 3 presentations with Dr. Erica Brown, musical event with Deborah Sacks Mintz
and Persian treats delivered to your door.

The Book of Esther takes us to the heart of destiny moments: a beautiful but unlikely queen evolves into a Jewish leader. A wise and trusted Jewish courtier expands his platform of influence, and a vulnerable minority facing death becomes a powerful people in a land not their own. Join us as we explore and interpret some beautiful works of art on a perennially fascinating Jewish story. We will examine its key ancient texts to discuss contemporary themes of beauty, heroism, exile, politics and anti-Semitism. To join CSP as a Patron level member, please visit this LINK for more information.

» CSP Patron Registrations

» General Public Registrations

SCHEDULE

Sunday February 14, 2021
12:00 PM – 1:00 PM PST/ 3:00 – 4:00 PM EST
Esther in Botticelli’s Eyes

Sunday February 14, 2021
4:00 PM – 5:00 PM PST/ 7:00 – 8:00 PM EST
Jan Lievens and the Destiny Moment

Sunday February 14, 2021
7:00 PM – 8:00 PM PST/ 10:00 – 11:00 PM EST
An evening of music with Deborah Sacks Mintz
Live from Manhattan, NY

Monday February 15, 2021
10:00 AM – 11:00 AM PST/ 1:00 – 2:00 PM EST
Mordechai, Haman and Rembrandt

ABOUT DR. ERICA BROWN

Dr. Erica Brown is the director of the Mayberg Center for Jewish Education and Leadership and an associate professor of curriculum and pedagogy at The George Washington University. Erica was a Jerusalem Fellow, is a faculty member of the Wexner Foundation, an Avi Chai Fellow and the recipient of the 2009 Covenant Award for her work in education. She is the author of twelve books on leadership, the Hebrew Bible and spirituality; her newest book is The Book of Esther: Power, Fate and Fragility in Exile (Koren). She has been published in the New York Times, The Atlantic, Tablet, First Things, and The Jewish Review of Books and wrote a monthly column for the New York Jewish Week. She has blogged for Psychology Today, Newsweek/Washington Post’s “On Faith” and JTA and tweeted on one page of Talmud study a day at DrEricaBrown.

Erica enjoys conducting interviews and moderating panels to get to know writers, thinkers and opinion makers and has been called the “Terry Gross of the Jewish world.” She has interviewed former Secretary of State Madeline Albright, David Brooks, Jeffrey Goldberg, David Gregory, Moshe Halbertal, Shai Held, Leon Wieseltier, Yehuda Mersky, Ruth Messinger, Sarah Hurwitz, David Makovsky, Dennis Ross, Deborah Lipstadt and others.

Erica has degrees from Yeshiva University, University of London, Harvard University and Baltimore Hebrew University. She previously served as the scholar-in-residence at both The Jewish Federation of Greater Washington and the Combined Jewish Philanthropies of Boston and as the community scholar for the Jewish Center of New York. She currently serves as a community scholar for Congregation Etz Chaim in Livingston, NJ.

Erica is also the author of Jonah: The Reluctant Prophet, Take Your Soul to Work: 365 Meditations on Every Day Leadership and Happier Endings: A Meditation on Life and Death (Simon and Schuster), which won both the Wilbur and Nautilus awards for spiritual writing. Her previous books include Inspired Jewish Leadership, a National Jewish Book Award finalist, Spiritual Boredom, Confronting Scandal and she co-authored The Case for Jewish Peoplehood (All Jewish Lights). She also wrote Seder Talk: A Conversational Haggada, Leadership in the Wilderness, In the Narrow Places and Return: Daily Inspiration for the Days of Awe (All OU/Koren).

ABOUT DEBORAH SACKS MINTZ

A transformative prayer leader and musician, Deborah Sacks Mintz has served innovative institutions around the country as a teacher of Torah and communal Jewish music. As the Community Singing Consultant of Hadar’s Rising Song Institute, Deborah serves as a resource to those seeking to cultivate the grassroots musical and spiritual creativity of the Jewish people. In addition to composing new Jewish music, Deborah can be found regularly performing and recording with a myriad of musicians and ensembles. A Wexner Graduate Fellow, Deborah is pursuing rabbinical ordination at the Jewish Theological Seminary.