CSP Online Events


Orange County Jewish Community Scholar Program Online Events are our way of staying connected, and continuing our mission to Ignite your Passion for Judaism. Our list is updated often as new events are planned. We hope to see you there!
 

 



 

Monday May 9
12:30 PM PDT/3:30 PM EDT
Thinking Visually
90 minutes
Limited Workshop: 20-25 Sophia Berry

Tuesday May 10
10:00 AM PDT/1:00 PM EDT
“Conversations with 4 Groundbreaking Contemporary Artists This week: Mierle Laderman Ukeles”
75 minutes
Shirel Horovitz

Wednesday May 11
12:30 PM PDT/3:30 PM EDT
Artist’s Beit Midrash
120 minutes
Limited Workshop: 15
Shirel Horovitz

Thursday May 12
12:30-1:45 PM PDT/2:30-3:45 PM CDT/3:30-4:45 PM EDT 22:30-23:45 Israel Time
“Virtual Gallery Tours”
75 minutes
Arie Katz

Friday May 13
9:30 AM PDT/12:30 PM EDT
Friday Conversations, this week: “Sacred Space”
45 minutes
Shirel Horovitz

Sunday May 15
4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT
What Makes Contemporary Art Compelling and Singular? 
We will explore 7 contemporary artists who raise issues such as culture, politics, religion, sexuality and the environment in relationship to themselves and their work. Artists we will discuss include: Mark Bradford, Rackstraw Downes, Liza Lou, Marilyn Minter, Shirin Neshat, Meg Webster, Ai Weiwei & Billie Zangewa
75 minutes
Arie Katz

Monday May 16
12:30 PM PDT/3:30 PM EDT
“Thinking Visually”
90 minutes
Limited Workshop: 20-25
Sophia Berry

Tuesday May 17
10:00 AM PDT/1:00 PM EDT
“Conversations with 4 Groundbreaking Contemporary Artists This week: Larry Abramson”
75 minutes
Shirel Horovitz

Wednesday May 18
12:30 PM PDT/3:30 PM EDT
Artist’s Beit Midrash
120 minutes
Limited Workshop: 15
Shirel Horovitz

Thursday May 19
12:30-1:45 PM PDT/2:30-3:45 PM CDT/3:30-4:45 PM EDT 22:30-23:45 Israel Time
“Virtual Gallery Tours”
75 minutes
Arie Katz

Friday May 20
9:30 AM PDT/12:30 PM EDT
Friday Conversations, this week: Sacred Time
45 minutes

Sunday May 22
4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT
“Ritual and the Art of Tobi Kahn”
Join us for a presentation on ceremonial objects that Tobi has created over 30 years, both personal and communal – including Baby Naming Chairs, Omer Counter, Synagogue Interior, Memorial Lights, Tu b’Shvat Seder Plate and most recently a Sukkah/Meditative Space. 
75 minutes
Arie Katz

Monday May 23
12:30 PM PDT/3:30 PM EDT
Thinking Visually
90 minutes
Limited Workshop: 20-25
Sophia Berry

Tuesday May 24
10:00 AM PDT/1:00 PM EDT
“Conversations with 4 Groundbreaking Contemporary Artists” This week: Ariel Hacohen
75 minutes
Shirel Horovitz

Wednesday May 25
12:30 PM PDT/3:30 PM EDT
Artist’s Beit Midrash
120 minutes
Limited Workshop: 15
Shirel Horovitz

Thursday May 26
12:30-1:45 PM PDT/2:30-3:45 PM CDT/3:30-4:45 PM EDT 22:30-23:45 Israel Time
Virtual Gallery Tours
75 minutes
Arie Katz

Friday May 27
9:30 AM PDT/12:30 PM EDT
Friday Conversations, this week: Sacred Objects 45 Minutes
Shirel Horovitz

Sunday May 29
4:00 PM PDT/7:00 PM EDT
“Words as Images”
Artists are still finding new ways to manipulate paint, canvas, and space, and they’re constantly developing new reasons to turn words into art. Using language, these artists transform the alphabet into art. Join us as we explore the art of Jenny Holzer, Elaine Reicheck, Mel Bochner, Barbara Kruger, Christopher Wool, Robert Indiana & Lawrence Weiner.
75 minutes
Arie Katz

Monday May 30
No program

Tuesday May 31
12:30 PM PDT/3:30 PM EDT
CLOSING EVENT – It’s A Wrap
In this final event in our one-month series, Tobi wraps up what he has learned and we have learned over the past 30 days.
75 minutes
Arie Katz & Shirel Horovitz

Wednesday June 1, 2022
9:30-10:30 AM
Agi Antal
Charlie
Virtual Walking Tour of Jewish Budapest

Thursday June 2, 2022
10:00-11:00 AM
Sophia Berry
Shirel
Peggy Guggenheim’s special relationship with the Tel Aviv Museum of Art

Tuesday June 7, 2022
12:30-1:30 PM
Danny Maseng
Shirel
Part 1 of Dancing with Fire: The Hassidic Masters

Wednesday June 8, 2022
10:00-11:00 AM
Elie Spitz/Mordecai Finley
Arie
Moral Philosophy, Spiritual Psychology and a Crisis of Consciousness: A Public Conversation with Rabbi Mordecai Finley

Thursday June 9, 2022
12:30-1:30 PM
Evgenia Kempinski
Arie
A 3-Part Jewish Adventrue to BaltoScandia, Part 1: Norway – The Land of the Midnight Sun

Sunday
June 12, 2022
4:00-5:00 PM
Eric Cline
Arie
1177 BC Revisited: Updating the Late Bronze Age Collapse and the Rise of Israel

Monday
June 13, 2022
11:00AM-12:00PM
Marc Michael Epstein
Arie
Secrets of the Torah Revealed – Book by Book: Part 4 – Bamidbar/Numbers

Tuesday
June 14, 2022
12:30-1:30 PM
Danny Maseng
Arie
Part 2 of Dancing with Fire: The Hassidic Masters

Wednesday June 15, 2022
10:00-11:00 AM
Dannielle Schwartz
Shirel
Mirror Image: Screening and Discussion

Thursday
June 16, 2022 12:30-1:30 PM
Evgenia Kempinski
Sophia
A 3-Part Jewish Adventrue to BaltoScandia, Part 2: Sweden – the Pop Music Capital of the World

Sunday
June 19, 2022 4:00-5:00 PM
David Kaufman
Arie
Jewhooing the Sixties: American Celebrity & Jewish Identity

Tuesday
June 21, 2022 12:30-1:30 PM
Danny Maseng
Arie
Part 3 of Dancing with Fire: The Hassidic Masters

Wednesday June 22, 2022
10:00-11:00 AM
Yair Nitzani
Shirel
Cultural Icon, Talk Show Host, Rock Star: A Conversation with Yair Nitzani

Thursday
June 23, 2022 12:30-1:30 PM
Evgenia Kempinski
Sophia
A 3-Part Jewish Adventrue to BaltoScandia, Part 3: Estonia – The Singing Nation

Sunday June 26, 2022
4:00-5:00 PM
Seth Rogovoy
Arie
The Essential Klezmer: Jewish Roots and Soul Music, from the Old World to the Jazz Age to the Downtown Avant-Garde

Tuesday
June 28, 2022
12:30-1:30 PM
Danny Maseng Arie Part 4 of Dancing with Fire: The Hassidic Masters

Thursday
June 30, 2022
10:00-11:00 AM
Jean Pierre Weill
Shirel
Evolve, a Children’s Book for Adults